The Rain In Spain

So, I used to be fat. Like, really fat. 349 lbs fat, if you want the number. I’ve lost about 160 lbs so far these past couple of years, and will hopefully hit my target weight later this year.

I’ve never really been someone that enjoyed the outdoors. Even as a kid I was happiest either in front of a computer or with my nose buried in a book. As part of the paradigm shift I have attempted to achieve in my life, I have taken to going on long walks around town, partly to get me outdoors and remind me that the world outside my house is still real, and partly as exercise.

The only downside is that, in a small town like this I have already walked everywhere there is to walk within around five miles of my house. I think the next step for me will be cycling, but whilst I was out walking yesterday I snapped the following picture:

tx

As you can see, I’m not the best photographer. I just happened to be walking down the road, and the tableau in front of me made me happy. The sun was shining, there were no cars, and it felt like I could just walk down this road forever.

As I get older I realise that it’s the simple things in life that are important. Sure it sounds trite, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t true. The wind on your face, the laughter of your children, the feeling of freedom in nature; all of these things are more valuable than any amount of money. It took me too long to understand this, but I feel sorry for the people that will never understand it. People who will continue to define themselves solely by material things. I’m not advocating living in a commune, or discarding everything you own and living on the streets, but it seems to me that people with $500,000 cars and several houses don’t really get life. They’re on the periphery and are playing the game, but they’re winning at the wrong thing.

Maybe this is sophistry for coming from working class origins and having a modest lifestyle now, but a simpler life is, I think, more rewarding in the long run. It’s certainly a lot less to have to worry about, I know that much.

Leave a Reply

